Oxytocin Bio

T-01

Oxytocin nasal spray dose calculator

Works out international units per actuation, how many sprays a target dose needs, how they split between nostrils, the solution volume used, the daily total, and how long a bottle lasts, from the concentration and actuation volume of your solution.

Works out international units per actuation, how many sprays a target dose needs, how they split between nostrils, the solution volume used, the daily total, and how long a bottle lasts, from the concentration and actuation volume of your solution.

There is no established consumer dose of intranasal oxytocin. No nasal oxytocin product is FDA approved, so no licensed regimen exists, and no dose-finding programme has produced one. Doses shown in these tools are either your own arithmetic inputs or doses that published trials used, each labelled with its trial and its result. Nothing here is dosing advice.

40 IU/mL is the strength of the approved nasal solution recorded in Drugs@FDA. It is offered because it is documented, not because it describes any product on sale today. 0.1 mL is the actuation volume implied by the 4 IU per actuation research convention at 40 IU/mL, and matches the 100 microlitre per dose spray reported in a published trial. Every preset is a dose a published trial used; the trial-dose explorer shows which trial and what it found. No preset is offered. Bottle sizes vary and this site has no verified source for what any given compounded bottle contains, so it is left to you to enter.

Spray plan

Content per spray
4 IULabeled concentration x actuation volume.
Sprays per dose (rounded up)
6 spraysDelivers 24 IU (0.6 mL); split 3 and 3 between nostrils.
Per day
24 IU0.6 mL across the day.

Whole sprays only, rounded up so the target is covered; the exact delivered amount and any overshoot are stated above rather than rounded away.

Worked example

Worked example: the standard research dose

  1. A solution at 40 IU per mL sprayed through a device delivering 0.1 mL per actuation gives 40 x 0.1 = 4 IU per spray.
  2. A 24 IU target therefore needs 24 / 4 = 6 sprays.
  3. Six sprays split evenly, so that is 3 sprays in each nostril, which is exactly what published trial methods describe.
  4. Six sprays at 0.1 mL each use 6 x 0.1 = 0.6 mL of solution per dose.
  5. At one dose a day, a 5 mL bottle holds floor(5 / 0.6) = 8 full doses, which is 8 days.
  6. Change the concentration and every one of those numbers moves, which is why a product that does not state IU per mL and volume per actuation cannot be dosed by arithmetic at all.

Frequently asked questions

Why does the calculator ask for concentration and spray volume instead of just a dose?

Because IU per spray is the product of the two, and neither is standard. The approved nasal solution was 40 IU per mL and research sprays deliver 0.1 mL, giving 4 IU. Change either input and the sprays needed for a given dose change with it.

Why did my target dose get rounded up?

A spray device cannot deliver a partial actuation. If your target is not a whole multiple of the per-spray dose, the calculator rounds up to the next whole spray and tells you exactly how much more than your target that delivers.

Why does it sometimes say the sprays cannot be split evenly?

Because an odd number of sprays cannot go equally into two nostrils. Published protocols use even counts for this reason, three per nostril for a 24 IU dose. The tool surfaces the asymmetry instead of hiding it in a rounded average.

Does this tell me how much oxytocin reaches my brain?

No, and nothing can. Measured nasal bioavailability is 0.7% with about 47% variability between individuals, and nasal anatomy, device and formulation all alter delivery. The calculator does arithmetic on what leaves the bottle, not on what arrives anywhere.

Why is there no milligram or microgram conversion by default?

Oxytocin is dosed in international units and the approved product is labelled in USP units per mL, not by mass. We did not verify a micrograms-per-IU factor against a primary source, so we do not ship one. If your product prints one, the converter will use it.

Is any dose in these tools recommended?

No. There is no established consumer dose of intranasal oxytocin because no nasal product is FDA approved and no dose-finding programme has produced a licensed regimen. Every preset is a dose a published trial used, shown with what that trial found.

Which trial dose worked best?

None cleanly, and the pattern runs the wrong way for the marketing. The highest daily totals, 48 IU and 96 IU, were used by the largest and longest trials, and those trials missed their primary endpoints. One reformulated spray found its peak effect far lower.

My product does not state IU per mL. What now?

Then its dose cannot be calculated, by this tool or any other. Per-actuation dose is concentration multiplied by actuation volume, so both numbers are required. A product that omits them cannot be compared to any published trial dose.

Tools: educational calculators and references only.

Start provider review